Broadcast to YouTube

Broadcasting to YouTube starts in the Destination menu, in the bottom right of the Main Window. Select YouTube. The YouTube Login button will appear at the bottom of the Main Window.

If you’ve never logged into YouTube with Ecamm Live, click Login now, and follow through the prompts.

If you haven’t broadcasted live to your YouTube account previously, you’ll need to enable the option by visiting your Live Dashboard first. Otherwise, you’ll see a message to do so.

Figure: Screenshot of what happens if you've not enabled live streaming first when you try to broadcast.

If you’re still receiving this message after enabling live streaming on YouTube, ensure that you have enabled it for the correct YouTube channel. To switch to a different YouTube channel in Ecamm Live, log out of YouTube, and then log back in. You’ll see a screen to select a channel during the login process.

Once you’re logged in, you can begin a live broadcast immediately by clicking Go Live, but there are a couple of options you’ll want to check out first.

YouTube Live Broadcast Options

YouTube assigns a category to its live broadcasts. You can choose your category under OptionsYouTube Video Category.

Under the Destination menu, you have two options to set.

Broadcast toPublic, Unlisted, Private.

  • Public will create a video that shows on your channel.
  • Unlisted will create a video that is available only if the viewer has a direct link to the broadcast. It will be otherwise unfindable to the public.
  • Private will create a video that is only available to you.

Go LiveNow (Unscheduled) or New Scheduled Live…

Now (Unscheduled) will begin your video without a prior announcement.

New Scheduled Live… will allow you to set a date and time for a live broadcast, as well as create a title, description and thumbnail image.

Going Live Now

If you select Go LiveNow (Unscheduled), give your broadcast a title and description by filling in the Title and Description fields in the lower left corner of the Main Window. Then click Go Live.

Creating a New Scheduled Live

If you want to announce a broadcast ahead of time, select Go LiveNew Scheduled Live…. An editor appears to allow you to set a date and time for a live broadcast, as well as create a title and description. You can also add an image to your announcement by dragging an image file onto the circle on the right side of the post editor. Complete the process by clicking Schedule.

To enter a return (new line) in the description field, hold down shift while pressing return.

Figure: YouTube Scheduled Live Post Editor

After you schedule your broadcast, we’ll show you a confirmation that it was created.

Figure: YouTube Scheduled Live Post Confirmation

Note that by default, the scheduled event will not show up on your channel page before the start date, even it it’s set to Public. If you want it to show up on the channel page before it’s live, you’ll need to change the setting for Promote on my channel page, in the Advanced Settings page on the Event’s Dashboard on YouTube. Clicking the Visit Settings button will bring you to your Event’s Dashboard. If you click OK instead, you can also get to this same place by clicking the countdown timer or the button in the lower-left of the Main Window, when your Event is selected in the bottom-right Go Live menu.

On YouTube’s site, the Promotions settings are a bit buried, in the Advanced tab of your Event’s Dashboard. Below is an image of what to look for:

Figure: YouTube Scheduled Live Channel Promotion

When you have scheduled a Live broadcast, any pending broadcasts are listed in the Go Live menu. When a pending broadcast is selected there, in the bottom left corner of the Main Window, you’ll now see a countdown timer, which lists the time left until you go live. Click the timer or the button to view or edit the post details in your YouTube Dashboard. It will open in your default web browser. To visit the event’s Live Control Room page, click the button. Also, there’s a trash button for cancelling the scheduled broadcast.

Before the countdown reaches zero, the big blue button displays Preview. Pressing Preview allows you to test your streaming connection prior to the beginning of your scheduled live broadcast. To view your preview, pick View Post on YouTube from the Ecamm Live menu at the top of the screen or press F to visit the stream’s Live Control Room on YouTube. You’ll see a window to view the preview.

View Live Chat Messages and Reactions

During broadcasts, any YouTube live chat messages and reactions your audience makes on your live broadcast will be displayed in the Comments and Reactions window. Additionally, at the top of the Main Window we’ll display a live count of viewers, visible only to you.

Display Comments on Your Broadcast

If you would like to share your viewers’ comments with the audience, you can add individual comments to the broadcast by dragging them from the Comments and Reactions window to the Main Window, or clicking Add to Broadcast under any comment. The comment will become a styled Text Overlay. Read more about your options in the Overlays section.

Ending a YouTube Live Broadcast

Click Finish.

YouTube will often cut the last few seconds off of a live stream. So we recommend that you wait a few seconds before clicking Finish.

Post-broadcast options

After clicking Finish we’ll present you with a message confirming your broadcast has ended, and offer several options for your next steps.

On YouTube, your Live broadcast is now a video on your channel.

View Post - click to reveal the YouTube video in your default web browser.

Delete Post - click to remove the video from YouTube. We’ll double-check with you before we destroy it, as there is no undo.

Show File - Ecamm Live automatically creates a local recording of your broadcast. Click this to reveal the video file in the Mac’s Finder.

Logging out of YouTube

Ecamm Live will stay logged into YouTube unless you manually log out.

If you’d like to log out of YouTube, with YouTube selected in the Destination menu, go to the Ecamm Live menu at the top of your display, and select Log out. In the Main Window, we’ll ask to confirm before logging you out. Pick Log Out.

Updated: